domestic affairs

Yesterday I accomplished my annual flower shopping,  filled my planters, biked along the river, stocked up on fruits and vegetables, and took a walk in the dark with my littles.    We could hear plenty of fireworks.   The challenge was sighting them.    Today is wet and quiet.  

I’ve made some recent discoveries that others may find interesting:

  • standards – a digital magazine full of design and food (in the summer issue there is a handy romantic picnic tip sheet AND a how-to for an outdoor tea party)
  • wood stool/sidetable extraordinaire – I shall make this a goal to complete this project by this time next year
  • tube sock legwarmers – El would love me twenty times more if I knit her a pair
  • herb soap – glycerin-based soap seems entirely my speed, and it doesn’t hurt that I picked up cinnamon basil yesterday too
  • ginger molasses cookies – Martha has replicated my favourite Starbucks treat, and I know this because I baked them, and they’re all gone
Comments
3 Responses to “domestic affairs”
  1. Debbie says:

    Hi friend…we are home and I’m longing for a visit. Soon, kay?

    We have SO many wooden bits like that and keep saying we are going to make them into stools and tables. Someday. 🙂

    I have an awesome molasses cookie (which I think is also from Martha…but different from the one you posted). We’ll have to share notes.

    Okay – heading out to the garden. Rain or not…I have SO much to do! xoxo

  2. Robyn says:

    I need to get on the planting business. Hopefully by next weekend. This weekend still getting over being sick. (No energy).

    Those tube socks are really cute. Have a great long weekend!

  3. Kathryn says:

    Seriously, they can’t be your fav treat from SB . . . they are mine! How much can I pay you to make me a batch or two? 🙂

Discuss!

