beret

Rarely do I knit upon request.   I am uncomfortable with meeting people’s expectations of me in general.   Wow.  It felt cleansing to type that.   It’s akin to being judged.   And Todd knows, I am judge-y myself.   I don’t like it.    I must do a better job at being  compassionate.   Ack, I got off track there.   The knitting.   Let’s talk about the knitting.   This here is the Play Beret knit in Cotton Tots.   The crocheted flowers were from a pattern in this book.   I just used up scraps of wool and acrylic that I had lying about.   I gave it to the recipient like this.   The idea is that she will sew a couple of buttons on the brim, and she can snap on and off the flowers in any combination she fancies.   What you can’t see from the photos is that I’ve added a row of holes along the ribbed brim to lace a ribbon through to keep the beret on a bit more snugly if need be.   It was a quick and easy knit.  I highly recommend it for beginners.   And let it be noted that I had to learn how to crochet past a chain stitch in order to make those flowers.   It wasn’t as terrible as I thought it was going to be.   Props to me.

Comments
7 Responses to “beret”
  1. Julie says:

    such a pretty beret!!I know what you mean, I don’t enjoy command knitting as much as normal knitting, either. I feel pressured!

  2. Robyn says:

    Well, it looks great! That’s awesome that you made up a ton of flowers, etc, and the recipient can do what they please with it! What a great idea.

  3. So sweet. I miss using Cotton Tots. They don’t sell it here in the States or at least I haven’t seen it. Well done on the crochet flowers too!

  4. Debbie says:

    Crochet freaks me out too. I’ve always wanted to make those pretty flowers…but alas, I don’t crochet – except the simple chain. Hmmm…perhaps a lesson is in order when we do tea. 🙂 Love the hat. It’s very pretty.

    ps- I love the owls in your header. I want them for my own.

  5. Kathryn says:

    Good job on the flowers chick! You can totally do anything that you put your mind to!

  6. tara says:

    Such a pretty hat. I can’t see how the recipient will be anything but happy with it. (Did I say that correctly? If I didn’t you know what I mean.) Awesome little flowers too.

Discuss!

