neuf ans

The Bumblebee turned 9 with a big bang!  She had a gaggle of her best friends over for a backyard stage party this afternoon, and they brought magic tricks,  silly poems, crazy dance moves, outside voices and large appetites.   Oh dear!   There was karaoke, a few plays, photo props, lots of giggles and applause, and dressing up.    And then the real bumblebees scared us and we came inside for cake and indoor games.   I really expected to get more photos, but it was chaotic, and I lost my chance.   There’s something to be said for enjoying the moment.

And so with that, another year has passed.   Yet she remains as sweet as the day she was born.   The smiles still bowl me over and leave me weak in the knees.   She doesn’t read out loud anymore when she reads in bed – it’ s all done silently up in  her head.  She spends more time on the phone (and discovered the speaker function which she now uses exclusively to our amusement).   She stops me when I say her name – then she exclaims, “I know!”, and oddly enough it’s always what I’m just about to say.  She loves to end each day with a walk around our neighbourhood in the dark.  She will stop everything she’s doing if I ask her if she wants to take a walk in the dark.  She is super honest.   She takes a long time to brush her teeth and swish her mouthwash.   She LOVES dogs.   She took her favourite dog for a stroll around the block armed with a poop bag, and wouldn’t you know it, she scooped up the poop like a pro and insisted it was the most fun ever AND that the poop kind of smelled like chocolate.  Um.  O-kay.   She does not ‘bug’ her 15-year old sister ever, and that says a lot.   She still has an accent, and sometimes we don’t hear her correctly – this makes her say everything twice in two different ways, so that people will understand at least one of the statements.   She does this unconsciously.   Her imagination amazes me, and I’d love to live in her head and hear all the stuff she isn’t saying.   She wakes up fairly early and walks like a zombie to her bowl of cereal.  I usually get a little wave of the hand to acknowledge me.   And she still stretches her gangly long arms up towards me for a big tight hug every night when I tuck her into bed.   Love.

N

Comments
6 Responses to “neuf ans”
  1. LaurieM says:

    Beautiful! I’m happy that you and your girl had a super fun day.

  2. Robyn says:

    Looks like she had a good time. What a great idea for a party! Love the “props” you made!

    Sean asked me for his 5th birthday for a sleepover with a few friends. Simple – inexpensive. I like!

  3. colleen says:

    This is one of the sweetest things I have ever read!!

  4. Isa says:

    Oh I want to cry! You are beautiful Nadine, and the bee is the luckiest little girl in the world!

  5. tara says:

    Okay, I don’t even know her and after reading your words, I love her too! Happy belated birthday wishes!

  6. Debbie says:

    I can so see her doing the last three sentences. You know her SO well…and she indeed is as sweet as can be. She must get that from her mama. ❤

Discuss!

