talent

People see my knitting, and they think I have talent, but they ain’t never seen my mum’s handiwork.   She made that stained glass lampshade up there.   She can do everything to perfection – sewing, knitting, embroidery, woodwork, stained glass, jewellery, quilting, scrapbooking . . .  I’m sure she could cut the grass if she put her mind to it. ( I’ve never cut the lawn, and I’ve never seen my mum do it either.   My dad just does it.)   Once she made an entire Thanksgiving dinner using without eggs, dairy or gluten WITH success.  She doesn’t ever lose anything.  Her handwriting is exquisite.  She has common sense up the wazoo.  If we all had to split up into teams, I’d scramble to be on hers.  I really like the smell of her laundry.  There’s no question.  She’s my hero.

 

Comments
3 Responses to “talent”
  1. Debbie says:

    You are a sweet daughter. Not sure I can find that many nice things to say about my mum. That really makes me sound mean, doesn’t it? Anyway, you ARE talented, sista. Don’t forget it. xo

  2. LaurieM says:

    What a lovely tribute. The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree….

  3. Robyn says:

    Oh wow, that’s stunning. And you are talented just like your mom too.

Discuss!

