2011

See 2010 highlights here.

My goals for 2011 were lofty to say the least.   I was going to be more caring and in turn build a community that cares.   If we are to ever end poverty,  we have to start by giving a poop about others.   I was going to be engaged.  I was going to become more knowledgable.   I was going to go outside of my comfort zone.   I was going to stand up instead of stand by.  Of course I did nothing of the sort like determine measurable outcomes and the like, so evaluating my success is a tad challenging.   I’ve been told that people like numbers when reporting these things.   I, on the other hand, like the stories that demonstrate making a difference.   To each his own.   Let’s see if I can do a bit of both with a recap of 2011.

As a member of the London Homelessness Outreach Network, and the girls and I were actively involved with World Homeless Day on Thanksgiving.   We made the cardboard couch and lamp, and we ‘protested’ the cardboard condo development with signs outside Museum London.   Check out the video here.

I played soccer four out of every five weekends, and we practiced weekly during the summer with some very competitive 11-year old boys, and they kicked our butts while laughing.   They must have taught me something because I tripled last year’s goals (read none), and I scored THREE times!   I played 14 games of dodgeball, and I have never laughed so much in my entire life except for the time the ball was whipped in my face AND the time I whipped the ball in a friend’s face completely by accident.  That wasn’t cool.   In my defense, I really can’t whip the ball, so it was just a bit of a throw.   I estimate that I played tennis 24 times, and my friend and I held our first annual championship tournament to showcase our weak skills and end our tennis season.  And we laughed some more while eating cupcakes and drinking gads of pop.  Clearly there was loads of physical activity and laughter – both great for shaping up.   This was also the year that I started running.  In fact I did a 5k run on the morning of Christmas Eve – in 38 minutes.   If you had told me last year that i would run 5k,  I would tell you that’s crazy talk.   Before 2011, I only ran for buses, and I don’t really bus anywhere, so that should say something.

I became a published crafter.   I’m still blushing, and it’s been two months.   I need to get over it already.

I won a grant to continue my education in Communications & Public Relations.   I’ve already completed my first course of seven last month, and this week I am attending my second course.   This has been a gift.   I should have my professional certificate in hand by the end of this year.   We’ll have a party, okay?

I organized my 6th or 7th (I’ve totally lost count!) Soup & Chili Lunch at work, and this year we raised over $700 for our local United Way.   I  got a bit teary-eyed because we’re only a staff of 20 people, so it’s pretty astounding that we can raise that kind of money in less than two hours with some crock pots.   It’s also a nice opportunity to sit down with our community partners, local politicians, friends, family, neighbours, and clients and share a meal.   That’s gold.

I joined a great community initiative called City Symposium, and I’ve had a fantastic time brainstorming potential speakers for our monthly events.    I’ve had the opportunity to work alongside community leaders, and I think I may be smarter because of them.   Ack, I don’t think it.  I know it.

Hey, I also started this blog and wrote over 70 posts even though I’ve disappeared for the past month.  I think about this space every day.  I didn’t mean to go silent there.   I guess I struggle sometimes what to say.   Coherently.   However, there’s much to catch you up on!  I made an entire sweater over the winter holidays!  I cast on and cast off a cardigan.  And it fits.   Stay tuned for more.

Comments
5 Responses to “2011”
  1. Debbie says:

    Again – your actions are so deeply inspiring to me. Now, if only I could get off my butt and follow in your footsteps. Although, I don’t think I could ever fill them – you are simply too incredible for that – but I can dream about doing it. Love you so much…and that picture. Way cool!

  2. Robyn says:

    What an accomplishing 2011! Hope 2012 is just as fantastic or even better!

  3. Colleen says:

    5K baby! Time for another one. xox

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] New Years Posts: 2011, […]

  2. […] don’t think it’s happenstance that I noted a few years ago that to ensure people treat people better, people would have to care about each other. […]



Discuss!

