mindfulness

Excuse the old pictures from February.  I’m catching up still.  My days seem to go by super fast, and then it is night again all too quickly.  I fall into bed exhausted, and seconds later my alarm is telling me it’s time to begin a new day.     Meditating once a week at my yoga class is helping me focus on the present and breathe.   One of my favouritest moments of yoga is at the end when we are instructed to say whatever we need to say to ourselves internally to be at peace, and I channel Stuart Smalley and tell myself,  “I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and doggone it, people like me.”   People would have to be insane to not like me.  That’s what I keep saying to my teenager.    Maybe she’d listen if I text her.

I have also grown a fondness for disengaging that equals my fondness for engaging.   It’s liberating letting go of what is not important and entirely throwing myself into activities and relationships that inspire me and make me a better person.  I’m trying to pay attention more.  I’m keen to improve my listening skills.   There’s also being present which is a challenge for me.  I must stop dwelling on things I can not change and things I’m afraid might happen.   It’s tiring thinking of everything that may be or  was.    And I will not judge.   I must believe that there is good in every one.   I’m starting to sound too serious.   Here’s something crazy – my favourite movie in high school was Weird Science, and I would rewind and watch the last scene over and over in which Anthony Michael Hall gets the girl, and they’re playing Tenderness.   Swoon.

Comments
3 Responses to “mindfulness”
  1. tara says:

    Doggone it, Nadine, I like you. My favourite movie in high school was Some Kind of Wonderful with Eric Stoltz.

  2. Isa says:

    I love you Nadine! Don’t ever change. Really. Not one bit.

    My favourite high school movie was “Grease”. Oops, age is showing 🙂

    • Debbie says:

      I love you too, as you know because we share a brain. Oh…I LOVED Some Kind of Wonderful. It made me cry every time. AMH…rocks. And please, don’t change, not ever. You are perfectly fantastic just the way you are. xo

Discuss!

