pâques

Today has been the perfect mix of busy-ness, good food and pleasure.   We woke up to a hearty breakfast of pancakes, bacon, oj and eggs.   Then I cleaned up the kitchen and whipped up shortbread and fudge for special Easter treats to take with us to tomorrow’s family dinner.   Meanwhile, the Bee got out her new paints and some canvases, and she painted an assortment of decorated Easter eggs.   This was a warm up for the actual dying of the real hard-boiled eggs.  I filled three glasses with 1 cup water, 1 tsp vinegar, and several drops of food colouring (yellow, red, blue), and dipped our eggs.  Easy.   That was all cleaned up, and we loafed around until early afternoon.  The sun was shining, so we walked down to the Thames, took pictures, laughed, gawked at the dogs in the dog park, and breathed in lots of fresh air.   By the time we returned home, the house was filled with the smell of turkey roasting in the oven.   I baked a loaf of bread, threw some vegetables in pots, and set the table with our best dishes, and the four of us feasted until we could no longer move.   I told my little family that I was most grateful for them, and then I turned on the coffee maker.   The kitchen is all cleaned up once again, and I’m taking advantage of the early evening light pouring in the front window.  I have my knitting, and I think I’ll watch a few reruns of The League because it’s pee-in-my-pants-funny and  ‘forever unclean’.    Do not judge.

Comments
2 Responses to “pâques”
  1. tara says:

    Enjoy the rest of your Easter weekend, Nadine and I’ll see you in a couple of weeks.

Discuss!

