point pelee

When my parents asked me last year what I wanted for Christmas, it took me milliseconds to respond with a road trip – just one day of driving, touring, sightseeing, and spending time with them doing fun stuff.    So that’s exactly what I got.   We waited until the weather warmed up, and they gave me some route options.   I chose Point Pelee even though the first option included a stop at Ikea for meatballs which was oddly tempting.   This was my first time on the Point, and it was awesome.  Trees, birds, turtles, frogs, butterflies, lily pads, boardwalks, rocks, sand, wildflowers .  .  . right up my alley.   We left the city at the crack of 9 a.m., and we leisurely went about our scenic drive to the Point along all the back roads.  Our first stop was a picnic table where we spread out sandwiches, cut veggies, fruit, and scones from Parks Blueberries (I lied – that was our first stop).   We walked the boardwalk, and our faces got a little sun-burny.  It was cold, so I fashioned a poncho for the Bee out of the old trunk blanket.   Then we hiked up to the very tip of the point, and the day got sunnier and warmer.  It was the perfect day.  We then headed into Leamington and hit a few garden centres where the plants are without a single blemish.   They didn’t even seem real.  I didn’t buy anything because when things look that good, I feel like I would be doing them a disservice by taking them home and letting them wilt and die a little.   Next up was wine tasting at the winery while the teen and tween sat miserably off to the side – I believe the oldest was choking on a breadstick, but I was too busy drinking.    We bought four bottles of the dry riesling because it was tasty.   To end the day, we went to a very reputable and hip restaurant in Kingsville  for some fine dining.   I urged the littlest to shuffle to the bathroom, but she insisted on being well-behaved.   And then we came home just in time for bed.   Best Christmas present – ever.

Comments
4 Responses to “point pelee”
  1. tara says:

    I concur. That is the best Christmas present ever. Point Pelee has been on my list of places to see since we first moved to Ontario 13 years ago. Someday we will make it there.

  2. Robyn says:

    What a lovely trip! It’s beautiful out there. How far was it from your place?

  3. Colleen says:

    Merry Christmas!!!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] favourite gift I receive every Christmas is a road trip day from my parents.  They plan a day of driving and exploring when the weather warms up, and we go […]



Discuss!

