extravagance

It was time for a new bag – with pockets and room for my knitting on the go – $1.40 at the Goodwill.  This got me thinking about how thrifty I am.   Two weeks ago, I was at the market, and a friend asked me to pick her up a package of rice crackers.  The rice crackers cost me $3.50, and I gasped and choked and coughed while I handed over a fiver.   I ranted for hours and days about how the same package cost me a dollar at my neighbourhood grocery store.  I could have bought three packages for less than the one I bought.   It was ridiculous!  Last week, I was at the same market, and I didn’t hesitate to slap down $12 for six macarons.  I’m talking tiny, fancy, light-as-a-feather, luxurious, two-bite cookies.  Six.  Clearly I am not THAT cheap.  (But if anyone knows where I can buy them for less, you will have my undying love.)

Comments
3 Responses to “extravagance”
  1. Jen says:

    Fellow thrifter here ! I love this post 🙂

  2. Robyn says:

    Great bag! I love being thrifty. We’re on a strict food budget these days, and I hear you about the cost of food!

  3. kat says:

    I totally hear ya! I can’t buy clothing at retail anymore and certainly not books at full bang – who the heck wants to pay that when you can get jeans for $5 and tops for less? Yet I will happily pay $5 for a great coffee and not think twice about the fact that it will bring me only 10 minutes of joy.

    BTW, great bag! Looks pretty awesome for toting around knitting 😉

Discuss!

