livres

It’s become clear that the bookshelves need to be thinned out.   The last time I opened those expecting books was over a decade ago, and there are no plans to expect again any time soon.   I’m amazed by this inventory – there are mysteries, science fiction, romances, comedies, dramas, adventures . . .  you name it, we’ve got it.   How’s it possible that we still make use of the library on a weekly basis?  We are addicted to reading.   Would you believe me if I said that we never go book shopping?  I blame a good amount of this amassing to hooking up with a dude who worked in a bookstore.  At the time it seemed like a brilliant idea.  I didn’t foresee the challenge of housing an enormous collection that spills on to bedside tables and every nook and cranny in the basement.   I must practice the art of curation.  I’m keeping the classics, the Canadian fiction (everything written by Mordecai Richler, Robertson Davies, the Margarets – Laurence & Atwood, Timothy Findley, Carol Shields, Rohinton Mistry, Lucy Maud Montgomery and Alice Munro), all of the Adrian Mole diaries, all of my copies of The Little Prince, the signed P.D. James, the John Irvings, and a selection of young adult books for the Bee.   The rest?  A delivery to the Goodwill is in order.

“I’m world-famous,” Dr. Parks said, “all over Canada.”  ―    Mordecai Richler,    The Incomparable Atuk

Comments
5 Responses to “livres”
  1. Louise says:

    it is amazing how much we collect isn’t it!

  2. Robyn says:

    Wow, that’s quite the collection of books!

  3. Debbie says:

    Well as you know, BOTH me and my guy worked in a bookstore so our collection is INSANE too. He wants it thinned. I refuse. In fact, I’m happy to add to what we already have. What are those INKSPELL and INKDEATH books? I’m intrigued. Just don’t tell Fred. 🙂

  4. i love my books so much that it pains me to read you are going to give some away. but i guess it makes room for more new books. i do have a few that need to go to the goodwill as well since i will NEVER read them (they are psychology books from the 50s lol) but i dislike the idea so much that they are still sitting in piles near my stairs along with all the readers digest condenced edditions which i also do not need but feel physically ill every time i even think about getting rid of them… i think i have a problem

Discuss!

