a light in the window

IMG_0958 IMG_0963

Since taking these pictures, I’ve knitted five rows of four squares and promptly stalled on the edges.   I’m waffling on whether to knit the edge in one colour or continue using a random number of colours.   I need to be in decision-making mode.  Regardless,  I love this blanket.   I love its squishy garter-stitch goodness.  I used 10 skeins of worsted-weight wool leftover from past projects.  I look at it, and I see Ella’s classic navy cabled sweater, my much-loved light blue wrap cardigan, a grey sleeveless tunic, my bright teal lace-yoke cardigan,  my giant fair-isle pullover,  and countless mittens.  It’s a keeper.

And I’ve taken to watching documentaries again.   I think I love them so much because they are so passionate, so real, so gritty, so breath-taking, so touching, so intelligent, so outrageous, so grievous, and yet so inspiring. It’s like brain food and soul food all in one.  If you’re looking for a little of that, here are a few recommendations:

Have any recommendations to add?

Comments
3 Responses to “a light in the window”
  1. tara says:

    it’s beautiful, nadine! and just got added to my list of blanket to knit, thank you very much. i’m on a bit of a blanket kick at the moment which i never thought i would say. i think it’s as a result of seeing quinn drag our only hand knit blanket all over the house and garden. so in the works is the tin can knits vivid blanket and a hemlock ring blanket (jared flood) for the linus in my life.

    • corazenia says:

      The hemlock ring blanket was my first knit blanket! I really enjoyed knitting it. Warning: I didn’t enjoy blocking it. 🙂 And I LOVE the Vivid blanket – what colours will you use?

  2. Verónica says:

    I love how the blanket is going! Looks like a quilt.

Discuss!

