lemon bread

IMG_3007 IMG_3024

Once again, we’ve been hit with snow and wind and cold.   Outings and commitments were cancelled, and there were some rumblings from the teenage love corner.   However, none of these plans were life or death, and I do believe that this is nature’s way of telling us to slow down and be still.  Or in my case, getting me off the hook.   I have a difficult time saying no to doing stuff with people on the weekends when I know that I am happiest spending time alone with the girls, wearing sweats and old pill-y wool cardigans, curling up on the couch with my knitting and a cup of tea, baking a sweet loaf of lemon-walnut bread, and watching enthralling documentaries – I’ve convinced myself that it’s personal development and self-directed educational opportunities.   This is how I re-energize and gear up for another work week.   And I’ll be honest, last week really drained me.   So thank you, snow storm.  I needed that.

 

Comments
9 Responses to “lemon bread”
  1. angelinahue says:

    Mmm, sounds really comforting

  2. maeussle says:

    I bet your house smelled lovely! Sounds like a perfect day 😉

    • corazenia says:

      Ooh, it did smell lovely and sweet! After I ate a slice, I went out snow-shoeing with a friend along the river, and it was certainly cold, but it was splendid to get some fresh air and sunshine. 🙂 A perfect day indeed.

  3. Jen says:

    I am on the exact same page & wavelength as you ! Ah, such picture perfect things in your kitchen. Lemon bread… yum !!! Can I come over ? 😉

Discuss!

