quaint

IMG_8747 IMG_8759 IMG_8764

It’s been a whole giant week since it snowed.  The sun was shining, and we had a morning play date with our favourite 4-year old baby genius and her sweet and gentle golden retriever.   I’m going to have to dig out my sunglasses.  And sunscreen.  It’s possible my face may be a bit red tomorrow.

I bought strawberries from the market yesterday – unfortunately it’s much too early for local strawberries – and I made up a batch of strawberry rhubarb soda syrup.  It’s super delicious stirred up in a cold glass of sparkling water with a lemon wedge. Instant strawberry rhubarb soda!  The perfect spring beverage!  Believe me when I say it’s worthy of many exclamation marks.

The most awesome thing happened this week.  One of my friends in my Circles group was looking for any exercise equipment that was gathering dust, so I put out an ask on twitter, and within half an hour, a woman in my social media circle offered up a full weight machine with delivery!  It makes my heart sing that my friend will see that there are good people in the world who want him to succeed and that help is there when he needs it. He has had a challenging life, and he is so motivated in getting off social assistance and bettering himself.  Improving health and increasing physical activity are common goals for our Circles leaders.  Both do a wonder for your self-esteem and resilience.  This weight machine will be a gift.

This reminds me that I need to dust off my running shoes.  I did a Learn to Run program two years ago, and I feel a bit sheepish that I didn’t stick with it after it was done.  I need a partner to get me out there.  I’m thinking I will drag out the littlest with me.  I miss hanging out with her every second of my free time.  Wish me luck.

Discuss!

