wild child

IMG_2097IMG_2101IMG_2023

NOTE: I wrote this one year ago but just now found it in my gigantic pile of draft posts. So much has changed (one kid is really studying abroad + the other is in high school), but so much has also stayed the same (the need to be still and enjoy this life we’ve made for ourselves).  I never meant to go so quiet in this space here.  Over the last week, I’ve realized how much I miss it and the really neat things that happen when I share a little bit of our days.  I promise to do better.  🙂 

It’s a new year!  As someone who can’t help but jump on every single bandwagon, I’ve been reflecting and wondering what’s next. Honestly, sometimes I wish I had more money.   Just so I could be still.   And learn.  But I don’t have more money, so how do I be still and soak in knowledge for nothing.   What’s easiest to do?  What makes me happy? What makes my family happy?  So many questions, and my couch is just so cozy.  I never want to leave.

This is the year that El turns 20  (did I mention that she plans to study in France this fall?), and the Bee will start high school.  It’s going to be big.  I would like to sit on the sidelines and cheer on these awesome kids for a bit.  Life has been going fast, and it’s time to stop and smell the roses.  The spotlight makes me uncomfortable and is not where I want to be.

Enough pontificating.  In all seriousness, I’ve made and eaten too much soup.  I blame the ease of using just one pot for dinner.  And really, if you need to feed more mouths, just add more liquid and seasonings accordingly.  Am I right?  My favourite soup right now is Italian Wedding Soup.  This soup will make you a hero.  Without any hard work.  I use all the time I saved to make dinner for the next night.  That’s right – I make two dinners.  Without breaking a sweat.  And it’s delicious.  Warning: gluten and meat ahead.

You are going to need:

  • 2 – 900ml cartons of chicken broth
  • 900ml water
  • 1 pkg of Knorrs powdered cream of leek soup
  • 1 box of frozen meatballs
  • 1 cup of ancini de pepe pasta
  • 1 pkg of frozen chopped spinach

Dump everything except for pasta into a giant stock pot.  Heat on high for half an hour – until everything is cooked. Add the pasta and cook for another 7-9 minutes.  Voila.

NOTE: Wild Child is a free playgroup for families in the forest. It’s pretty much the best bee in my bonnet.  Parents are encouraged to follow their children’s lead which makes for the very best kind of adventures full of curiosity, exploration, risk-taking, and learning.  Plus who doesn’t like a storytime that involves sitting on a log on a frozen pond?

Discuss!

